books · cooking · nature · Shopping

Totally in love with Totnes.

Sorry I have not been so communicative folks, it has been half term and the partner and I have been spending some quality time together. It has been a fairly quiet half term holidays, we had my brother up to stay one night which was good. I did a Mexican feast and tried cooking authentic baked beans. Considering I detest beans I really enjoyed them! You can find the recipe here if you want to try them. It is another Pioneer Woman recipe.

My brother also brought his long-awaited Christmas present for me and it did not disappoint. I love illustrated nature books, I know many people think they are for children but I think they can be enjoyed by all and I quite often use them as inspiration in embroidery and sewing projects.

16583219_268013060295587_4300328424502722560_n.jpg

Every page is a delight to behold and it is so interesting! There are sections on everything to do with the natural world.

Anywho I shall get to the main beef of this post. On our last weekend we drove up to one of my favourite towns from both Cornwall and Devon (I shouldn’t say that being Cornish!). Totnes is in the south of Devon and is just so full of life and character. It far outnumbers independent shops to chain businesses and I think this is my main reason of my love for the place. There are a few great little stores that stock some of my favourite homeware brands – Gazebo is at the top of the town is situated in a narrow little street and stocks lots of Rice, Cath Kidston and Petit Jour Paris homewares. I was in my element! I also like to visit Penelope Tom near the bottom of the town which stocks lots of Magpie goods and Quail ceramics (a particular favourite!)

In Gazebo I bought two little pieces, a beautiful trinket tray designed by Nathalie Lete and a funky little cactus necklace.

16464665_721535141360606_8797315150857109504_n

Regularly frequented on our trips to Totnes is the Oxfam book shop they have there. It always has the BEST nature books. I always find an old, beautifully illustrated gem! This time I found three. No prizes for guessing their topic…

16789975_1863299963944899_6777330312868265984_n.jpg

All in all a great half term, met up with some old university friends too and shared a few ciders! It is always sad to see the holidays end!

2 thoughts on “Totally in love with Totnes.

  1. I’m really enjoying reading your blog Zara! You write so beautifully about all the things I love. Just the tonic for a homesick Brit on the other side of the world. You are so clever with all the lovely things you create. I cant wait for the next installment. Ps. Totnes is a fave of mine too xx

    Like

    1. Aww thank you Lucinda, that’s so lovely to hear! I will try to keep up the quality of writing! Haha. Thank you so much for the comment, it’s really made me smile. I hope you and your family are well in LA. Xxx

      Like

Leave a Reply

