cornwall · perranporth · st piran · teaching · work

Happy St. Piran’s Day!

First of all an apology for the lack of posting. I started my new job this week and I have been shattered learning the new processes of a totally different profession!

Some time ago I started wondering if teaching was what I wanted to for the rest of my working life. After losing a few particularly important and close family members in 2016 it made me realise that life is sometimes just too short to spend time doing something you’re not 100% sure you want to do. I’m still not sure – I feel I always have teaching to go back to if I ever feel there is a school I would love to work at. I went into teaching after working with children for many years and always enjoying it, but I think teaching (at least in many Primary Schools) has changed over the course of the last few years and I don’t think that children’s enjoyment and engagement is at the top of every schools importance list anymore. This isn’t true for every school though, there is one school I worked at, in the middle of beautiful countryside, where the teachers always considered what the children would enjoy whilst planning their lessons – and it truly showed.

I didn’t consider other career options because I can’t teach – I know I can, and enjoy working with the pupils and being in front of the class. It’s the other elements of the job I am not 100% sure I want to commit to.

So to end this waffle at Christmas I began to apply for other jobs outside of teaching and got a few interviews on my second I was offered and accepted a job in Occupational Health with my local council. I am really enjoying the change and am feeling really refreshed and engaged by the new processes I am learning. Most importantly, I am working with a team that truly want to help the people they are working with. It’s lovely to feel, that in some part, I may be a part of this process.

17126438_1118673201595091_1568735907215835136_n(1).jpg

In other news for all of us Cornish people we are celebrating St. Piran’s Day. A day which is truly important to our Cornish heritage. It is celebrated on the 5th of March every year. It is very important to me as my family hail from Perranporth, the beach on which St. Piran landed when he first arrived in Cornwall.

Legend says that Piran came from Ireland, cast into the sea tied to a millstone on the order of the Irish King who was suspicious of Piran’s miraculous powers. Piran survived stormy seas and arrived at Perranporth where he built an oratory to promote Christianity (his first disciples were said to be a badger, a fox and a bear). The oratory is now preserved in the sand dunes at Perran Sands.

Piran is famous for his accidental discovery of tin, when a black stone on his fireplace got so hot that a white liquid leaked out; the first tin smelting. It was this discovery that earned Piran the title ‘Patron Saint of Tinners’. Tin mining was the backbone of Cornish industry. This discovery also formed the basis of the Cornish flag, the white-hot tin on the black of the ore.

According to legend St Piran was fond of a tipple or two, despite his tipples, he is said to have lived to the age of 206.

St Piran’s day celebrations continue to grow in popularity, with the annual St Piran Play on Perran Sands being a highlight, hundreds of people make the pilgrimage to the site of the oratory and other landmarks.

St-Pirans-Day1.jpg

Gool Peran Lowen everyone! (Happy St. Piran’s Day in Cornish)

4 thoughts on “Happy St. Piran’s Day!

  1. Lovely post Zara. Uncle Mike and I are very proud of you. It takes a lot to make a major change in your life. Well done to s blog is brilliant!

    Like

  2. What a wonderful post. I never heard of St. Piran’s Day and good for you for trying something different! I believe many would have just stuck it out because they thought they were supposed to rather than looking for what makes them happy.

    Like

Leave a Reply

