baking · cornwall · homemade · recipes · work

Lamb and Chickpea fritters!

First of all another apology I haven’t posted in a while. I am finally getting into a routine at work and this week I feel like I haven’t been too brain dead when I have gotten home! I have been deciding on my next craft projects, bakes and my partner and I have been visiting gyms to join in April. 2016 wasn’t the best year and I felt like I was in a bit of a hole emotionally but I finally feel like I am starting to feel like me again now. You just have to force yourself to get out there and do things (whether it be in my craft room or walking along the beautiful Cornish landscape!) and not just slouch around in my PJs on my days off. Although it is sometimes lovely to do this in horrible weather we have had this weekend!

A few reasons 2017 is going to be/is a good year:

  • I got asked to be a Godmother to my best friends child – George. The cutest and happiest baby ever! Check out the way I got asked below!
  • I am going to be Best Man to my brother at his wedding. Yep, me, his sister!
  • I am going to be an Aunty too!

16789059_165794343927406_4385760881707843584_n.jpg

I have been struggling to cook my usual tasty meals recently due to the tiredness (and, in part, laziness!), however, I made the tastiest meal the other day and wanted to share it with you. It was Lamb and Chickpea fritters – super tasty and super filling.

You will need:

  • 1 x 400g can chickpeas, drained and rinsed
  • 1 egg
  • 250g pack lean lamb mince
  • 1 tsp ground cumin
  • 1 tsp ground coriander
  • ¼ tsp ground cinnamon
  • 3 garlic cloves, crushed
  • 1 red chilli, deseeded and finely chopped
  • ¼ small pack coriander, roughly chopped
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 4 large tortilla wraps
  • 1 romaine lettuce, shredded
  • 4 tomatoes, sliced
  • 1 small red onion, thinly sliced
  • 150g pot 0% fat Greek yogurt

Lamb & chickpea fritter wraps

Method

  1. In a food processor, whizz the chickpeas with the egg for a few mins until almost a purée, but some bits remain. Spoon into a bowl and stir in the mince, spices, two-thirds of the garlic, the chilli and coriander. Season well and form into 12 small fritters.
  2. Heat the oil in a non-stick frying pan and cook the fritters in batches for 4 mins on each side, until crisp on the outside and cooked through.
  3. Top each wrap with a good handful of shredded lettuce, tomato, red onion and 3 fritters. Mix the yogurt with the remaining garlic and spoon a little over the fritters. Wrap up and tuck in! I served mine with homemade wedges which are super easy. I just slice my potatoes into wedge shape cover with my choice of spices, salt, pepper and a drizzle of olive oil. I cook these for 45 minutes at 180c fan. I like ’em cripsy!

 

Leave a Reply

